September 18-20, 2015


Dates have been set for Ishpeming’s Annual Hall of Fame Enshirement Weekend   

The annual Enshrinement Weekend of the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame in Ishpeming has been set for this coming September 18- 20. The main feature of the event is this year’s class of Honorees, which is the largest since 1984. Ten men and women are being inducted. Among them is Jeannie Thoren who was born and raised in Marquette and last year was the celebrated alumnus for Northern Michigan University.

The Hall of Fame’s Enshrinement Weekend celebrates Ishpeming’s and the Upper Peninsula’s special place in the world of ski sport because of its historic role in the organization of the National Ski Association of America. This organization which also founded the national ski museum in Ishpeming in 1954 is the reason this city became the “birthplace of organized skiing in America.” The weekend will complete the induction of the Class of 2014 into the Hall of Fame and also introduce this great group of athletes and contributors to ski sport to our community. It is a tremendous opportunity for everyone to meet and talk to world and Olympic champions. 

The weekend’s events are:

·  The Enshrinement Ceremony and Reception at the Hall of Fame on the Friday evening, which is preceded by the National Ski Jumpers Reunion.

·  The annual Ishpeming Kiwanis Welcome Breakfast on Saturday in Ishpeming.

·  The annual Coy Hill Golf Outing  - Wawonowin Golf Club, on Saturday afternoon

·  The Enshrinement Banquet, Saturday evening

Throughout the weekend the honorees will also be touring Ishpeming, Negaunee and Marquette to meet the media and enjoying many of our community’s attractions.  

The members of the Class of 2014 are: Curt Chase (one of the founders of the Professional Ski Instructors of America), Joe Cushing (a pioneer designer of ski resorts), Chris Davenport (a leader in ski mountaineering), Kristina Koznick (a great former US Ski Team alpine racer), John McMurtry (the leader of US Ski Team championship development), Ralph Miller (former skiing world speed record holder), Ross Powers (Olympic snowboarding champion), Erik Schlopy (professional world champion racer), Robert Smith (developer of the first double lens ski goggle and founder of Smith Optics), Jeannie Thoren (the “Johnny Appleseed of Women’s Skiing”). 

The U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame is the only national museum dedicated to the history of skiing and snowboarding in the United States. Its facility has made it the largest ski museum in the world. Its Vision: To promote, honor celebrate and preserve the records of the athletes and builders of skiing and snowboarding as a sport and industry. With the current class of honorees 404 men and women are now national hall of famers in skiing and snowboarding.

For more information or to reserve tickets to the events call 906 485-6323.




Phone: (906)-485-6323 | Fax: (906)486-4570
610 Palms Avenue PO Box 191 Ishpeming, Michigan
© 2011 by the U.S. National Ski Hall of Fame

Web Design by906 Technologies